People queue up prior to visit the Eiffel Tower, in Paris, Thursday, June 25, 2020. The Eiffel Tower reopens after the coronavirus pandemic led to the iconic Paris landmark's longest closure since World War II. (AP Photo/Thibault Camus)

The European Union announced Tuesday that it will reopen its borders to travellers from 14 countries.

Canadians are on the list, but most Americans have been refused entry for at least another two weeks due to soaring coronavirus infections.

Travellers from other big countries like Russia, Brazil and India will also miss out.

As Europe’s economies reel from the impact of the coronavirus, southern E-U countries like Greece, Italy and Spain are desperate to attract back sun-loving visitors and breathe life into their damaged tourism industries.

More than 15-million Americans are estimated to travel to Europe each year, while some 10-million Europeans head across the Atlantic.

Citizens from the following countries will be allowed into the E-U’s 27 members and four other nations in Europe’s visa-free Schengen travel zone: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The E-U says China is “subject to confirmation of reciprocity,” meaning it must lift all restrictions on European citizens entering China before it will allow Chinese citizens back in.

Countries considered for the safe list are also expected to lift any bans they might have in place on European travellers.

The list is to be updated every 14 days, with new countries being added and some even dropping off depending on whether they are keeping the disease under control.

Source: The Associated Press, 30 June 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *